Author Topic: Advice on AR-15 Purchase  (Read 3876 times)

TonyS

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Advice on AR-15 Purchase
« on: April 28, 2010, 08:25:54 PM »
Greetings,

I am new to AR's. I would to purchase one for home defense (.223/556) and occasional target shooting. There are so many choices out there and do not know what to select. I have a budget of about 1K. Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!

Tony

billt

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 454
Re: Advice on AR-15 Purchase
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 08:58:17 PM »
Welcome to the forum! You really can't go wrong with any of the major brands. Bushmaster, DPMS, Armalite, Stag Arms, Rock River Arms, along with several others all make nice guns for at, or under the 1K price point. Look for sales because right now there is a glut of AR-15 type rifles. Many stores are overstocked. The post election bubble has burst, and demand has fallen because of it, and the bad economy. It is a buyers market for AR-15 buyers right now. It's a good time to take advantage of it.  Bill T.

m25operator

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2010, 09:05:12 PM »
TonyS, BillT is right, buy an A3 flat top, for probably 700.00, and you have 300 to buy mags and ammo, maybe even an optic, all of the aforementioned brands traditionally work well out of the box.

Good Luck and have fun.
" The Pact, to defend, if not TO AVENGE '  Tarna the Tarachian.

kilopaparomeo

• Top Forum Member
  • My own private purgatory...
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2010, 09:10:53 PM »
BillT is right on the brands.  Can't go wrong with any of them.

A few words of advice for a first time buyer:

+ Go with a 16-18" barrel.  20" is a hair long for inside HD and resist the urge to get all tactical and get a 14.5" with permanently attached muzzle device.  I prefer 18" with a mid length or rifle length gas system for reliability and best velocity.