Author Topic: Tips for using the Hornady Lock N Load AP (LnL) Progressive Press  (Read 97148 times)

halh

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Tips for using the Hornady Lock N Load AP (LnL) Progressive Press
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2015, 12:24:22 AM »
some great info here, thanks to all that have contributed!

jkurzner

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2016, 02:30:36 PM »
I realize this is an old topic, but it really is helpful.  I have a Hornady AP Press coming in and would like some advice on mounting.  I am new to reloading and not sure how much space requirement is needed for it.  I see in the Hornady manual they recommend mounting the edge of the unit at least 16 inches from the nearest wall.  Is that recommendation only accurate if the wall is on the left of the unit?  Does it change if the wall is to the right?  I'm trying to preserve as much workbench space as possible and want to keep the unit out of the main workspace area.

MikeBjerum

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 853
« Reply #22 on: April 25, 2016, 03:25:08 PM »
The easiest way for me to describe functional and efficient work space is to pretend you are eating a sit down meal.  Center line of press is your shirt button line, and you need free elbow space on both sides.

If you have a major space restriction, consider through holes on the bench with metal inserts, short pieces of pipe with the same ID as the OD of the bolts you use, and remove the press from the workspace when not in use.
If I appear taller than other men it is because I am standing on the shoulders of others.

PegLeg45

• NRA Life, SAF, Constitutionalist
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1014
« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2016, 06:10:55 PM »