Author Topic: Revolver reloading  (Read 14296 times)

m25operator

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Revolver reloading
« on: September 07, 2008, 07:55:54 PM »
I just read Mr. Erhards report on the uspsa match in Tulsa, and he mentioned Jerry Miculeks inefficient reloads, Mr. Erhard is definitely not a revolver shooter and is unqualified to report on it. The fact that no one reloads faster does not seem to matter, it seems he believes it is out of sheer want to, not how to. He did mention Squibby gave him a reason, but did not state it. Let me explain, Jerry's reload, and I've been doing the same for over 20 years.

1st, the reload that most people use, open the cylinder with the firing hand, eject the empties, with the non firing hand, usually parallel  to the ground, grab speed loader with the non firing hand and insert cartridges, letting the speed loader drop free, close the cylinder and  reclaim the grip, begin firing again, not bad, but not efficient.

Problem 1 is ejecting parallel to the ground, unburnt powder will accumulate under the extractor, and bind the cylinder.
2nd the shooting hand is stationary, and the non firing hand is doing all the work. 3rd, when the firing hand  still is gripped to the revolver, the thumb of a right handed shooter is in the way and can catch a cartridge on the way out and hang it up.

The Miculek way, shooting hand opens the cylinder, the revolver is transferred to the non firing hand, and the empties are ejected, with the barrel perpendicular to the ground, maybe a shade off to avoid breaking the 180 degree rule, while this is happening, the firing hand is grabbing the speedloader, with the revolver at belt level, and charging the cylinder, as the cylinder is filled, let go of the loader or moon clip and close the cylinder while reclaiming the proper grip and fire. 2 hands work better than 1.

Any questions?
" The Pact, to defend, if not TO AVENGE '  Tarna the Tarachian.

Big Frank