Author Topic: Suppressor make accuracy better or worse??  (Read 20116 times)

Ksail101

• Airborne all the way!!!
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Suppressor make accuracy better or worse??
« on: November 25, 2009, 11:05:13 PM »
So I have a buddy that did work with Delta over in the sandbox. He is someone who I have become good friends with and now have been able to get together with and practice many things that I haven't be able to do just by myself since I have gotten out. He is an ex- Ranger\SF, multiple tour, "badass."

Anyway we got into the topic of suppressors cause he brought his RRA AR out shooting last time and he is thinking about spending the money on a Surefire that is very similar if not the same as the one he used with Delta on one of his tours. He swears up and down that a suppressor makes the gun more accurate.

I have no experience with a silencer on a rifle. I have only used one and that was a Beretta M9 and to me it made the shoot high right, but consistently High right from where it shot before the suppressor was on. Thus in my mind I felt it made it less accurate but I guess you can compensate to make it shoot where you point.

I got on Surefire's website and downloaded their catalog and this is directly from the 4th page:

Increased Accuracy
Groups typically improve with a SureFire suppressor
attached. This is attributable to SureFire's proprietary
suppressor design, which dampens vibration, reduces
recoil, and affects other ballistic dynamics. Will a SureFire
suppressor make you a better shot? That’s what practice
is for. But it’ll put the rounds where you point them.

So what is the truth does it help with Accuracy or does it impede it?? And do they work differently from a rifle to a handgun??
Did we win???

tombogan03884

Re: Suppressor make accuracy better or worse??
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 11:55:41 PM »