Author Topic: 303 id  (Read 13386 times)

tombogan03884

Re: 303 id
« Reply #30 on: March 26, 2013, 07:17:47 PM »
When the Imperial German Army ran into the British Expeditionary Force (The Old Contemptible's  ) at Metz in 1914 the volume of rifle fire convinced them they were facing machine guns.

bigdrumdaddy

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #31 on: March 27, 2013, 05:36:04 AM »
I know nothing about this platform, but just wondering if this has some collector value, if it's truly 100+ years old.  How plentiful are these rounds?  I know of several other pre-WWII examples in other calibers that fetch a high price, especially if the box is present.  Seems like everything older was used up in WWII.

I've been shooting Enfields of every variety for more than 25 years now, and I can tell you you'd be hard pressed to find a better military bolt gun from that era. It's been said that the Germans built a hunting rifle, the US built a target rifle, and the Brits built a battle rifle (a paraphrase). I've always found the Enfield to be an excellent platform, and have a No. 4 Mk I that - before my eyes went south - I said would out shoot any bolt gun with irons out to 600 yards. And I never lost a challenge. That particular rifle was made in the first three weeks of production in 1939, and was as accurate as anything I'd ever had the pleasure of firing.
   From your pics, it looks like you've got a No. 4 that's had the stock cut down - which would devalue it a good deal, but SARCO often has full stock sets at affordable prices (if you'd care to restore it). And there ARE a couple of excellent reference books available - as well as online sources - that can tell you the vintage, manufaturer, etc if you're interested.