Author Topic: AR Cleaning Kit  (Read 3867 times)

Combustion

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
AR Cleaning Kit
« on: October 07, 2008, 04:55:00 PM »
Hey guys I'm looking for a little advice. I just picked up my first AR yesterday so I am pretty new to the AR world. My new Ar is a Noveske N4 light-basic. Anyways now for the question, I am looking for a good all around cleaning kit. I am not sure whether to try an put one together my self (and if so anything special I need) or to buy a full kit.  Any info would be greatly appreciated.

brosometal

• Top Forum Member
  • Still a Grade A 1 smart donkey! DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
Re: AR Cleaning Kit
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 05:38:33 PM »
In my limited experience, a surplus kit (roughly $20) and a bore snake ($20ish) have worked for me, but I will defer to others here with more experience than myself.
The person who has nothing for which his is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety is a miserable creature and has no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.
- J.S. Mill

Big Frank

• NRA Benefactor Member
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1111
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2008, 09:01:54 PM »
I have bore snakes for all my guns for a quick wipe of the bore, and use a Hoppes or Outers universal gun cleaning kit to really clean them. Military bore brushes won't fit those rods without an adapter since they use a different kind of threads, but the civilian brushes and rods are all interchangeable. I also have a Cylinder & Slide Dunk-Kit bucket of solvent that I can soak parts and pistols in.