Author Topic: Alternating FMJ/JHP magazine load  (Read 11822 times)

1stCivDiv

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Alternating FMJ/JHP magazine load
« on: February 01, 2010, 08:10:19 PM »
I have been loading like this for several years and wanted to get some feedback.  Currently, I carry an XD40 Service and load the magazines alternating FMJ and JHP.  The premise being that I will not have the luxury of knowing whether I will have to take a straight up/no cover shot at an attacker or if I might have to shoot through a windshield or other cover to stop a fight.

Comments...

D Haught

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
Re: Alternating FMJ/JHP magazine load
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 09:14:04 PM »
I can't see any advantage to that considering the type of ammo available commercially. The winchester FBI loads which I believe is marketed currently as the bonded PDX1 (someone correct me if I am wrong) is designed to pass FBI barrier penetration and expansion tests. Too much info to post here but you can do some googling and read about the FBI protocols. This ammo would certainly meet your desires for barrier penetration without using an alternating load that gives you no real control over actual penetration for the situation at hand.

fightingquaker13

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 10:12:58 PM »
The only time I ever did this was when I briefly owned a kel-tec. It hiccuped occasionally on HP, but was flawless on FMJ. So I put an HP in the stack and loaded the mag FMJ. It occured to me that I would be better served by just getting a better gun,hence the G-26. Frankly, given that as a previous poster said, bonded HPs will do fine through barriers, and in an urban environment I'm more worried about over penetration than under penetration,I'd see no need for this. But hey, what ever works for you. Plus, you'll confuse the CSI guys. ;D
FQ13

JdePietro

• M14 Patterned Protagonist
  • Top Forum Member
  • "Neither Spare nor Dispose"