Author Topic: 6.8 SPC questions  (Read 10102 times)

Pathfinder

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger -- NRA Life Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 83
Re: 6.8 SPC questions
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2010, 12:19:46 PM »
Since we have this topic going, I'll ask a question I have been considering.

I happen to have an Olympic upper and lower I acquired in the early 90s.  The upper is stripped but the lower seems to have all the parts, but I'm not experienced enough to say it has them all. 

I have wanted to so SOMETHING with it for some time now.

I haven't heard much good about Olympic so my question is:  Should I try to build a 6.8 (or some other variant) on this lower and upper or are they not up to the job?

Thanks.

Good question, Solus. I've heard about Oly quality issues, but have no first-hand knowledge of them. My understanding is that the quality issues are in the past, not with current or recent manufacture.

Theoretically, though, you can replace the Oly barrel, bolt assembly and 5.56 magazines with 6.8 parts, and be good to go. That pretty much leaves only the upper receiver housing as a critical Oly part. The rest (stock, forward hand grips, etc.) really don't matter from caliber to caliber. Since you'd be swapping out most of the Oly upper stuff, I think you'd be OK, IMHO.
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do this to others and I require the same from them"

J.B. Books

bafsu92

• Top Forum Member
  • Si vis Pacem, Para bellum
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2010, 10:19:40 AM »
I've had no problem getting 6.8 ammo. Go through either SSA or Natchez Shooting Supply. Both have plenty of different options starting around $16 for 20rd boxes.
Cogito, ergo armatum sum

"Capitalization is the difference between helping
your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse." - Unknown