Author Topic: Sewing machine question  (Read 6052 times)

Dalton Masterson

• Freeda Bee Mee's driver and ammo loader
  • Very Active Forum Member
    • Dalton Masterson's site
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Sewing machine question
« on: May 15, 2012, 12:18:45 PM »
I asked this over at Leatherworker.net, but thought I would try here too.

I am new to sewing machines, and just got a Cobra Class 4 delivered last week. With some practice the last couple of days, I can make a pretty decent stitch on top.

I am having problems with the back stitch though, but am figuring it out with practice. It seems to snag the thread once in awhile, and leaves a large knot on the bobbin side of the piece.

My real question... I build holsters, and with my handsewing, I can pull the stitching tight enough that I dont need to groove the stitching that would contact the gun. Using the machine, the stitching all lays on top of the leather, and will definately snag on a firearm eventually. This would be on the bottom/bobbin side of the piece while I am sewing.

Do I need to tighten the bobbin tension to get this to suck in more, or am I expecting too much from the machine? With handstitching, I can get away with wetting the inside of the holster some to help the thread pull in flush. Is this what I need to do in this case? I groove the outside stitch lines of course.

The bobbin side of the stitch is where it should be, in regards to pulled up into the leather, but basicaly I am needing to "pull" the thread tighter.

Some background that might help. I am using 14 oz of W&C with contact cement to glue. Thread is 277 bonded with an Organ 24/180 needle.

DM
Proprietor of Plum Creek Leather Works - Old West Gunleather
http://www.freewebs.com/daltonmasterson/plumcreekleatherworks.htm
Friend of www.runniron.com
SASS #51139L
Gunfighting Soot Lord from Nebrasky
SUDDS 194--Double Duelist and proud of it!
RATS #65
SCORRS

rayban

• Forum Member
    • RG Leather
  • Liked:
Re: Sewing machine question