Author Topic: how much wood to reinforce a chipboard reloading bench top  (Read 8351 times)

wtr100

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: how much wood to reinforce a chipboard reloading bench top
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2011, 09:36:42 AM »
a piece of 3/4 plywood on top of the bench and a piece of 1 x 4 used as a sorta huge washer
below each press has the old bench solid enough - should last me a while - unless I get into
boolit swaging!
Have your musket clean as a whistle, hatchet scoured, 60 rounds powder and ball and be ready to march at a minute's warning.

billt

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 459
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2011, 01:42:43 PM »

I've been reloading on both of these benches for over 30 years. OSB is stronger than plywood. It just doesn't look as good. I painted my second bench grey which hides the fact it's OSB. I've resized a ton of .338-378 Weatherby Magnum on this bench, and reloaded thousands of 12 Gauge shells without a single issue.   Bill T.

TAB

• DRTV Rangers
  • Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 92
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2011, 02:55:15 AM »
2 words....

torsion box

;D

its what do for all my work tops.  I also put a tempered hardboard top on them.( the ply that is)  that way when its messed up, I just throw it away,  I'm out all of 10 bucks.
I always break all the clay pigeons,  some times its even with lead.

bfm1851

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2011, 02:46:49 PM »