Author Topic: Reloading  (Read 2878 times)

tombogan03884

Reloading
« on: January 04, 2008, 05:49:06 PM »
Do you folks care to discuss reloading. I'm new to it, I've been reloading .308 for my Rem 700 , just got dies for my.45. Popping out primers from some mixed brass I noticed that the Federal cases had a smaller primer pocket, I thought my eyes were play tricks on me so I measured some. Winchester and Fiocchi measured .208 +/-  but Federal was .172.
     How about components, when I get set up I'll be loading for .357 and .45 ACP. Any suggestions

ellis4538

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Reloading
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 08:08:37 PM »
Just about everything is discussed here.

Double check the Federal cases...they might be 45 GAP which is loaded with small pistol primers and I believe the cases are shorter. 
Used to be "The only thing to FEAR was FEAR ITSELF", nowadays "The only thing to FEAR is GETTING CAUGHT!"

reloader

• Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2008, 08:12:30 PM »
Federal was first using small primer pockets in 45 Auto cases with their NT (non toxic) ammunition.  I believe Winchester also now uses small primer pockets in their NT ammo as well.  I think the Federal cases are crimped as well (NT).

Case sorting is thereby necessary for range pick up cases.

reloader

tombogan03884

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2008, 08:31:21 PM »
Yes the headstamp was Federal NT, Thankyou, I'm going to watch this thread as I know you folks will be trading info and recipee's (sp)

ellis4538

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2008, 05:38:11 AM »
Thanks reloader, I didn't know that and I read a lot.
Used to be "The only thing to FEAR was FEAR ITSELF", nowadays "The only thing to FEAR is GETTING CAUGHT!"

Sponsor

« Reply #5 on: Today at 02:17:53 AM »

m25operator

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2008, 12:30:27 AM »