Author Topic: W.D. Wyatt...shooter, mentor, friend  (Read 4928 times)

PegLeg45

• NRA Life, SAF, Constitutionalist
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1048
W.D. Wyatt...shooter, mentor, friend
« on: September 03, 2010, 06:13:20 PM »
Every shooter, hunter, sportsman, et al, can most probably look back to their early years and point to a specific person (or persons) who were directly involved with encouraging their burgeoning hobby. I had three, and sadly, one has left a hole in the shooting community.

W. D. Wyatt was the father of one of my closest high school friends. I spent most of every weekend at his home with his wonderful family. He was an avid shooter and reloader and. He got me involved in competition bullseye shooting at a local range and sponsored me as a new member after I graduated high school. He loaned me guns and ammo for competition, even when he was unable to attend himself due to work (not many folks would hand over a Jim Clark custom bullseye pistol to a 19 year old). He taught me the right things to look for in a gun and was always there if I had a question (even a stupid one).

He was a humble soft-spoken family man of faith who always had good words to say. Sadly, yesterday afternoon, he lost his battle with cancer and passed peacefully into the kingdom of Heaven with his loving family around him.

Rest in Peace, Mr. Wyatt, you will be missed by many.

"I expect perdition, I always have. I keep this building at my back, and several guns handy, in case perdition arrives in a form that's susceptible to bullets. I expect it will come in the disease form, though. I'm susceptible to diseases, and you can't shoot a damned disease." ~ Judge Roy Bean, Streets of Laredo