Author Topic: Tactical Considerations for those with Physical Limitations  (Read 18562 times)

rat31465

• Jack of all Trades, Master of none.
  • Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Back in February of 2009 my home was destroyed by a tornado and in the aftermath of trying to sift through the debris I managed to tear a ligament in my left knee which left me on crutches for the better part of 6-weeks.  I graduated from depending on two crutches to get around to one and for the rest of about a 6-month period I began to use a single point cane.  My Physician says that I am not a candidate for surgery and it is an injury that I may have to live with for the rest of my life.
 I have since this time reinjured my knee  frequently in varying degrees just going about my everyday life, as a result of my somewhat limited mobility I have stepped back and reevaluated my  own self-defense needs.
So what has my disability required me to change in this regard?  The first and foremost factor I have had to come to terms with is in my limited mobility.  As a youth I was very active and athletic…perhaps not in the classic sense as my conventional athletic participation was limited to track and more precisely as a cross-country distance runner…I also was  an avid Hunter and Backpacker. The point I wish to make here is that my physical endurance and ability to move were always paramount to how I trained.
Recently while playing a game involving squirt guns with my 2 ½ year old Grandson Rylan…I reinjured my knee  attempting to simply pivot and evade his head on attack.  The incident drove home the fact that despite my belief that I was well on my way towards recovering after a year and a half… I no longer have the ability or the option of making a quick getaway, or even a hasty/tactical retreat.  Heck I can’t even run from a child…a fact made even more evident after the little guy soaked me to the bone when I fell to the ground.  (Pop’s can’t expect mercy from this little guy.)