Author Topic: ADS-B exchange  (Read 708 times)

les snyder

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
ADS-B exchange
« on: March 10, 2023, 07:23:04 PM »
once upon a time, in a land far far away I was a USAF signals intelligence analyst... and well looking at what is available open source is giving me something to do during my weird sleep habits

the site, ADS-B exchange, displays returns from aircraft transponders, in real time, as to type, altitude, heading, acft type identification, call sign, country of origin, and overlays a representative icon on a map, and also allows you to track selected acft flight path... you can query to display only individual acft types... ie R135, B52, E3 etc

during my deployments I worked a lot of the RC135 missions out of Kadena AFB, Okinawa and Offutt AFB, Nebraska so like to take a look where the SIGINT birds are flying... hint, Black Sea, Persian Gulf, Sea of Japan

so if you have nothing else to do a little primer on RC135 mission.... Click on the "U" dialogue box and add r135 in the search box

Rivet Joint.... is the standard SIGINT platform... typically voice intercept
Combat Sent.... radar site and non voice comms
Cobra Ball.... missile launch and telemetry... this guy has been heading north from Kadena, over Honshu, Japan, into the Sea of Japan then turns off the transponder and goes dark... will return to Kadena

Rivet Joint has been sight seeing along the Romanian border... B52s scaring the bejeesus out of PVO Strany up in Belarus.. it was always exciting when a TU-95 would fly off the coast of Kyushu, Japan

regards Les

Pathfinder

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger -- NRA Life Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 84
Re: ADS-B exchange
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2023, 02:33:49 PM »
If you like ADSB Exchange, try Skyglass. Costs like $5 a month, but really awesome detail and information - including the US .mil spy balloons up at 90k feet. Over the US.