Author Topic: Choke Tubes  (Read 6664 times)

SureShot

• Forum Member
  • Proud NRA & TSRA Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Choke Tubes
« on: December 19, 2010, 08:28:42 AM »
Hay guys,
Need your vast knowledge again. I’m new to the world of shotguns, and I just bought a Mossberg 500 in 12ga came with an 18 ½ and a 28 in. barrel. I’ve been watching the shooting shows and reading all I can about shotguns and its ammo. I pretty much got the defensive side figured out (or I think I do) but have some questions on the hunting side. What shot size to use on what game, and chokes? I would be using it mainly for small game (rabbits, squirrel) and pest control (raccoons, skunks, armadillos), and maybe some larger game like deer and hogs.  Can I shot all rounds in all chokes? Like buckshot or slugs with a turkey choke tube? And will a choke tube add length to the barrel? I know I’m asking a lot of questions, but I know I can get answers to these questions here.

Thanks and stay safe.

Paul
Proud NRA, TSRA and GRRN member

Teresa Heilevang

• The "Other Halloway"
  • Global Moderator
  • Top Forum Member
  • Don't make me call the flying monkeys! DRTV Ranger
    • The Perfect Touch
  • Liked:
Re: Choke Tubes
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 09:05:55 AM »
Depends on several factors when hunting.. and clay shooting.
I use 71/2 shot and 8 shot  for dove and quail. Generally I use Improved.. sometimes a Modified. Like I say.. it depends.

Same when I shoot clays .. although use AA's when I shoot sporting clays in competitions..
 I have Browning's easy screw in and out (use your fingers) choke tubes. They DO stick out a little from your barrel, but for easy changing .. they are the best. Kinda pricey, but you only need to buy them once.  :)

Rabbits and squirrels I NEVER EVER use a shotgun.. I hunt these critters with a 22 rifle . I don't want to have to clean shot out of the meat..and a 22 bullet through the head doesn't waste any of the meat.