Author Topic: First time AR Purchase question  (Read 6380 times)

Bill Stryker

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: First time AR Purchase question
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2008, 07:05:55 PM »
WD40 is great for a lot of things, but not for guns.

I used it for a long time. Found that it leaves a film that turns to gum and stops things up.

I now use Breakfree or CLP as stated in the manual for my AR. But when I was still on active duty 22 years ago I heard stories of units using motor oil with good effect. I was an Ordinance Officer at the time, but working on tactical vehicles not pistols or rifles.

After I retired I worked for General Motors and saw a demonstration of MilTech that impressed me very much. I use MilTech on my pistols.

I think the important thing for most of us is to keep the stuff that is supposed to be wet, wet with good oil, and motor oil or Mobil 1 are good oils.

DDMac

• Proudly Bald On
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2008, 07:12:56 PM »
Put that extra 1/2 Qt of Mobil 1 on the cleaning table. Never heard of that before. Certainly makes sense. Thanks, Mac.
Standing up for your Right to lay down suppressive fire since 1948!

DonWorsham

• MWAG
  • Top Forum Member
  • I feel more like I do now than I ever did
  • Liked:
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2008, 07:20:11 PM »
I use MilTech on my pistols.

Bill, do you use the Miltec grease?
Don Worsham
Varied Movements Performed Intensely

Bill Stryker

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2008, 08:08:42 PM »
Don,