Author Topic: Changing Out AR-15 Pistol Grips ??  (Read 15917 times)

billt

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 459
Changing Out AR-15 Pistol Grips ??
« on: March 13, 2012, 08:51:41 AM »
For guys who have done it, have you encountered any grief? I ask because while it seems simple enough, I know many of the manufacturers use Loc-Tite or some other type of thread locker on the threads of the screw. I've seen this cause destruction of the threads in Aluminum. In the videos posted on You Tube showing these being installed, you can tell they always pre loosened the screw before they made the video. I just wondered if anyone tried it and had problems?

I have a Bushmaster Modular Carbine that came with an Ergo Grip installed, and my LWRC weapons have the Mag-Pul MIAD Grip from the factory, which I really like. So I'm thinking of changing out some of my other ones if it's not a royal pain to do. Sometimes the simplest of jobs are the ones that give you the most problems.

capbyrd

• Very Active Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Changing Out AR-15 Pistol Grips ??
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2012, 09:22:15 AM »
I've personally never had an issue.  And if there was any loctite, it was blue which really only requires about a sneeze worth of pressure to break loose. 

bjtraz

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2012, 09:42:58 AM »
A simple trick, that WILL save you headaches, is to place masking tape on the end of flat head screwdriver. Making the fit between the screw and driver tighter aids in getting it started. If you don't, you will spend many attempts fumbling with it. Also, be aware of the safety lever hold pin and spring, it will fall out and lodge in the most remote/dark/cob webby part of your bench.  ;D I use white lithium grease on the spring, it holds it in the grip while installing. Good luck.

Brian
NRA & NAHC Life Member, American Legion

billt

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2012, 10:12:41 AM »