Author Topic: 922r Checklist and Definition  (Read 12930 times)

twyacht

• "Cogito, ergo armatum sum."
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
922r Checklist and Definition
« on: January 24, 2010, 04:21:58 PM »
Just a helpful link that I found, it has a checklist that you can use with a "compliance tally" at the bottom.

Plus there is an important subsection (1):

http://jobson.us/922r/

Saiga 922r

922r is the section of law which relates to assembling or modifying semi-automatic weapons, such as AK and SKS type rifles. This is my understanding of the law after reading the law and several people's descriptions of it. I am not a lawyer, so take this interpretation as such; if you want the actual definition, please consult a lawyer.

922r is defined under U.S. Code - Title 18 - Part 1 - Chapter 44 - § 922

(r) It shall be unlawful for any person to assemble from imported parts any semiautomatic rifle or any shotgun which is identical to any rifle or shotgun prohibited from importation under section 925 (d)(3) of this chapter as not being particularly suitable for or readily adaptable to sporting purposes except that this subsection shall not apply to —

(1) the assembly of any such rifle or shotgun for sale or distribution by a licensed manufacturer to the United States or any department or agency thereof or to any State or any department, agency, or political subdivision thereof; or

(2) the assembly of any such rifle or shotgun for the purposes of testing or experimentation authorized by the Attorney General.

Seeing how Saiga goes through Russia American Armory out of Indiana, ALL Saiga's bought from a local dealer are up to snuff.

Yes it's a dumb law, but if anyone has questions about other brands of AK's or SKS's the checklist at the link may be of help.
FWIW.