Author Topic: Removal of case lube after reloading  (Read 21901 times)

DeltaM

• Very Active Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Removal of case lube after reloading
« on: November 21, 2012, 03:01:32 PM »
I'm by no means an expert on reloading but have been at it now for little over 3 years, probably 11,000 rounds or so, mostly 9mm, .40. .38, .380 and .357 with the majority being 9 and .40  I've not made the jump to rifle rounds yet but plan to next spring.  I have a Dillon 550B.

I know it isn't mandatory to use case lube with carbide dies but have been giving the cases a light spritz of Dillon case lube with the cases lying flat on a newspaper and sit for a couple hours prior to going in the press.  It makes the cranking a bit easier.  Most of my reloads are Berry's plated, Hornadys, and some lead for the wheel guns.  Frankly, I'd rather pay a bit more for plated and clean guns less due to lead but that is another issue.  I enjoy reloading almost as much as shooting, have a chronograph, etc.

On occasion, I run the loaded rounds through the tumbler with corncob media but haven't made a habit of it.  Initial cleaning prior to reloading is soaking , then walnut media, then swab out the innards under a bright light with a toothpick and Q-tip. 

Question, finally:  Lately I've wondered if I need to clean all the reloads to remove the case lube before firing.  Does case lube affect or build up unnecessarily?

1Buckshot

• Monty Lucht
  • Top Forum Member
  • COMMENCE FIRING
  • Liked:
Re: Removal of case lube after reloading
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2012, 04:37:27 PM »
I use a spray on lube for my rifle cases and after sizing I just wipe them down with a shop type paper towel. I have never used it on my pistol cases. I would wonder about build up in the smaller sizing dies. I clean out my rifle dies every 100 cases or so. Just a thought.

MikeBjerum

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 865