Author Topic: Gun buying question.... to avoid a straw purchase  (Read 1009 times)

TAB

• DRTV Rangers
  • Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 92
Gun buying question.... to avoid a straw purchase
« on: November 05, 2023, 12:36:40 AM »
Let's say you have a friend that lives in another state that has been looking for a gun for years.   You find one in a local pawn shop.
 The pawn shop refuses to do a sale where he buys it and then ships it to his ffl.

How can you legally get this gun to him?

Buying it for him is technically  illegal.  Both live in free states.

Is there a way to do this legally?
I always break all the clay pigeons,  some times its even with lead.

billt

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 454
Re: Gun buying question.... to avoid a straw purchase
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2023, 02:28:11 AM »
I'm not a lawyer, but I think you could purchase it, then gift it to him. This assuming he can legally own a firearm where he resides, and you don't make it a regular thing by buying firearms for all your "friends" on a regular basis.

But a one shot deal I think is permissible. He can send you a check because the ATF doesn't govern money, or amounts paid. Just the guns it can buy.

A "straw purchase" is defined as knowingly purchasing a firearm for someone who you know cannot legally own one. That is not the case here.

Big Frank

• NRA Benefactor Member
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1087
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2023, 05:18:08 AM »
I'm not a lawyer, but I think you could purchase it, then gift it to him. This assuming he can legally own a firearm where he resides, and you don't make it a regular thing by buying firearms for all your "friends" on a regular basis.

But a one shot deal I think is permissible. He can send you a check because the ATF doesn't govern money, or amounts paid. Just the guns it can buy.