Author Topic: Going red dot  (Read 5567 times)

fightingquaker13

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11894
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Going red dot
« on: July 17, 2009, 11:39:25 AM »
As many of you very patient folks know, I have, with your help, finally gotten off the fense and chosen an AR as opposed to an AK. (I'm sorry Rob, but you always were into the retro thing and I'll follow you when cash permits ;D). Anyway, I was torn as to what sights to put on a DPMS flat top. I was leaning towards USAA's advice of a 1-3 Weaver. Then I saw on offer a new(ish) in box eotech 512.A65 for $200. I jumped on it. The sight is perfect. My problem is I can't get the damn thing on my gun (easily). I obviously don't want to horse it. I've never used a rail system before. Is there a trick to this? It won't open wide enough to go on top like a weaver mount and it won't just slide on from the end either, even with thee screw completely loose. I'm sure I could force it on, but that seems like a very bad idea. Thoughts?
FQ13 who is feeling pretty silly, but better embarassed than killing an expensive sight out of ignorance. Pride is cheap, eotechs run $400. :-[ ;D

tombogan03884

  • Guest
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 11:44:12 AM »
 Force is ALWAYS an absolute last resort, and then you probably DON'T want to do it (Pins and dovetails are the only friction fit items I can think of off hand)
I'm not familiar with the Eotec set up but if you take the screws all the way out can you THEN slide it on from the side ?

long762range

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 408
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
"If you carry a gun, people will call you paranoid. That's ridiculous.  If I have a gun, what in the hell do I have to be paranoid for."

fightingquaker13

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11894
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2009, 11:53:42 AM »
http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=359657
Thanks, but the sight already has the mount. All I need to do, theoretically, is slide it in. I'm just looking for tips from someone with experience as to how to do so.
FQ13

tombogan03884

  • Guest
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2009, 11:58:37 AM »
Thanks, but the sight already has the mount. All I need to do, theoretically, is slide it in. I'm just looking for tips from someone with experience as to how to do so.
FQ13

When M25 gets off work and logs on he will probably get you squared away if  some one else doesn't beat him to it.

Sponsor

  • Guest
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #5 on: Today at 12:18:36 AM »

mosbear

  • Very Active Forum Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2009, 12:18:25 PM »
Why don't you give the Eotech a call?

Here is a link:
http://www.eotech-inc.com/warrantycontacts.php

ericire12

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7926
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2009, 01:18:56 PM »
$200 is well bought
Everything I needed to learn in life I learned from Country Music.

Ichiban

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1847
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2009, 01:54:44 PM »
I, also, am fairly new to ARs and I just put that exact same sight on mine - I had it out at the range this morning sighting it in.  Try opening the mount as far as it will go, hook one side on and drop the other over the rail.  You need to make sure that the retention screw lands in one of the notches in the rail or it will never fit.  HTH.

fightingquaker13

  • Top Forum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11894
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2009, 02:11:42 PM »
$200 is well bought
Indeed. I got it off AR armory. The guy had two for $400 or one each for$210. The sale lasted less than an hour. I just got lucky. (An occasional advantage of insommnia as he posted at 11pm). His handle is 12131 and he shipped when I told him I wanted the scope. He dind't wait for my check to arrive, much less clear, even though I am very new on that board. He also ate fed ex shipping AND threw in two sets of batteries. He said some some scrapes and dings, there are two very small scratches. He has a good rep there for a reason.
Now back to the thread.......Many here have said I'm an idiot, many more have thought it. I am forced to admit its all very true. In my defense, I am very new to rail systems. This rifle is the first I've owned or handled. I assumed (and we all know where that goes) that the slots were for fore and aft mounting and the weaver rails underneath were for mounting abeam. It was pointed out that this was not the case. The slots are for a horizontal mount. When the seller graciously (no overt sniggering) pointed this out, lo and behold, the sight went on perfectly. It's bright and sunny here in So. Fl. and there was zero wash with this thing. The holographic projection makes other red dots look like jokes. No hunting for the dot, no moving your head back and forth. Both eyes open and head up on a sunny summer day and it looks like the reticle is painted on your target's forehead. Best $200 I've ever spent.

FQ13 Who is embarassed, but still glad I played it safe by seeking advice on how to mount it right before doing something stupid :-[ but still ;D

tombogan03884

  • Guest
Re: Going red dot
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2009, 04:19:35 PM »
 Only think you're an idiot in some of your politics. The fact that you asked about something you didn't understand BEFORE using the hammer shows you have your head on right about technical stuff.

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk