Author Topic: Night Vison Scope for AR-15? Coyote Elimination Ideas? Night Shooting?  (Read 3199 times)

HAWKFISH

• Top Forum Member
  • One thing I've learned. **"It's hit or be hit."**
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I wish that I had a night vision scope on my ar-15 to take out some coyotes around my house. I've still got to check on the legality issues with it.. but if I can legally do it.. Is there a decent night vision scope out there for under $1000 that would actually work for this task. I would be taking shot from about 40-100 yrds away at night. Any thoughts, ideas, or recommendations for this task? I have zero night vision experience to date. I always see the coyotes in the middle of the night/ early morning right before sun up.. and then sometimes in the mornings hours.. but they are always out and about in the middle of the night here.. hence night vision??? 

ccd

• Very Active Forum Member
  • Liked:
For Night Vision scopes you REALLY need 3rd generation due to imaging and tube life issues. I have been thinking of going this route for over ten years due to hogs, but have been hoping against hope that prices would come down ( I'll be waiting a LONG time I fear.) If you will be hunting in a wooded area you are more or less stuck with using a NV optic. If in open farmland (and you have good eyes) you should be able to get by using a decent scope(the moon is your friend) and a LIGHTFORCE setup.

You will most likely get a better, more thorough answer on one of the big predator hunting boards. Also contact your USDA county extension agent (or game warden) and he/she may be able to put you in contact with someone who currently is doing predator control in your area( you could pick their brain as to what equipment and local regulations.)

twyacht

• "Cogito, ergo armatum sum."
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked: