Author Topic: 7mm Mag bases for scope, loctite or no?  (Read 8660 times)

HAWKFISH

• Top Forum Member
  • One thing I've learned. **"It's hit or be hit."**
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
7mm Mag bases for scope, loctite or no?
« on: April 11, 2008, 11:30:39 AM »
I'm just getting into bolt action rifles. I have a standard, plain-jaine Remington 700mm Magnum that I am going to be putting a Nikon Monarch scope on.. with weaver grand slam bases. My question is about the bases. Should I loctite them in right from the get go?.. or shoot the rifle first without loctite and see what happens. So, far people I have talked to said eventually the 7mm mag will work the scope loose if I don't loctite the base screws. Any thougts or info on a good solid base mounting system?? I would like to be able to remove the bases someday if needed, without them be "locktited in."

Hazcat

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
Re: 7mm Mag bases for scope, loctite or no?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2008, 11:36:14 AM »
Blue loctite.  You can unscrew them, but they will not unscrew themselves.
All tipoes and misspelings are copi-righted.  Pleeze do not reuse without ritten persimmons  :D

ericire12

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2008, 01:12:29 PM »
I'm just getting into bolt action rifles. I have a standard, plain-jaine Remington 700mm Magnum that I am going to be putting a Nikon Monarch scope on.. with weaver grand slam bases. My question is about the bases. Should I loctite them in right from the get go?.. or shoot the rifle first without loctite and see what happens. So, far people I have talked to said eventually the 7mm mag will work the scope loose if I don't loctite the base screws. Any thougts or info on a good solid base mounting system?? I would like to be able to remove the bases someday if needed, without them be "locktited in."