Author Topic: newbi with mini-14/30 question.  (Read 9591 times)

chefman

• Forum Member
  • My son the Corpsman
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
newbi with mini-14/30 question.
« on: October 30, 2007, 01:25:38 PM »
Howdy everyone, newbie here. I just found this site today,looked around and feel like I could learn a little more from you guy's. I am a novice when talking gun-tech, I was brought up around a few guns, and was taught the "4 basic rules" before they were called the "4 basic rules ". I just thought that was good common sense. I was a crew chief on F-4 Phantoms in 72-74 so I have been around the block a time or two. I enjoy killing targets but never really got into hunting, self-defense is my main focus now. I carry a J-frame .38 and keep a Rem 870 nearby. What I would like to know is some opinions of  the Ruger mini-14 and 30.  I will be using this in the yard(3acres), and I live in a rural area of N AL so I am not constrained by city ordinances. I do have some timber on the property. I am mostly concerned with ease of maintenance and reliability of the two weapons. Granted they do carry Ruger reliability but I am on a limited budget and am trying not to find out "I should have bought the other one". Thanks for the input.
GUNS shoot BULLETS, PEOPLE shoot PEOPLE ..dang it!

pioneer

• Top Forum Member
  • Liked:
Re: newbi with mini-14/30 question.
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2007, 02:06:49 PM »
Chefman,